Here are this month’s blog links. I haven’t read all of them yet, unlike some months. Enjoy!

Business Related Blog Links:

Etsy Alternatives: 5 Places to Sell Your Handmade Items https://blog.scottsmarketplace.com/etsy-alternatives/

17 Ways to Prevent a Burnout Before It Happens http://personalself.com/preventing-burnout/

How much money to you really need to make? http://erineflynn.com/how-much-money-do-you-really-need-to-make/

Staying Organized & On Task (Even if it’s not your forte) http://www.huffingtonpost.com/women-entrepreneurs-we-nyc/staying-organized-and-on-_b_10616808.html

Cooking Related Blog Links:

Substitutions http://www.blissfulanddomestic.com/2016/06/my-go-to-baking-ingredient-substitution.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+BlissfulAndDomestic+%28Blissful+and+Domestic%29&safe=strict

Pear and Pecan Summer Salad w/ Chunky Blue Cheese Dressing http://www.disneyinyourday.com/2016/06/17/pear-pecan-summer-salad-recipe/

2 Ingredient Bread Sticks http://www.onionringsandthings.com/2016/06/two-ingredient-breadsticks/

Salted Caramel Mocha Pudding Cookies http://sequinsinthesouth.com/salted-caramel-mocha-pudding-cookies/

Finance Related Blog Links:

5 Financial Myths Busted! http://www.financiallyfitandfab.com/5-financial-myths-busted/

Homesteading:

Growing Drying Beans http://homespunseasonalliving.com/grow-drying-beans-for-food-security/

Knitting Related Blog Links:

Yarn Shops & Knitting Shops in Florida http://yarnplaces.com/directory/yarn-shops/fl/

Savannah, GA Yarn Shops & Knitting Shops http://yarnplaces.com/directory/yarn-shops/ga/savannah/

Findaly, OH Yarn Shops & Knitting Shops http://yarnplaces.com/directory/yarn-shops/oh/findlay/

Planner Related Blog Links:

WTF is a Bullet Journal https://www.buzzfeed.com/rachelwmiller/how-to-start-a-bullet-journal?utm_term=.mxOwQLNdpl&bffbbooks#.qdB3qpNmRr

You Know You’re A Planner Addict When… http://stationerystarlet.blogspot.com/2016/02/you-know-youre-planner-addict-when.html

You Can Plan Anywhere https://timemanagementninja.com/2016/06/you-can-plan-anywhere/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+TimeManagementNinja+%28Time+Management+Ninja%29

What Has Your Planner Done for You? http://myfilofaxblogat.blogspot.com/2016/06/what-has-your-planner-done-for-you.html

How to Use Bound Journals http://www.leatherquillshoppe.com/blog/how-to-use-bound-journals

Webster’s Pages TN Review and Set Up https://thestationerygeekette.com/2016/05/31/websters-pages-tn-review-and-set-up/

Thoughts on Planner Peace http://myfilofaxblogat.blogspot.com/2016/06/thoughts-on-planner-peace.html

Maximize Your Time, Use It Wisely https://thefabulousplanner.wordpress.com/2016/05/30/maximize-your-time-use-it-wisely/

How I Got Out of My Planner Rut http://liveloveplanners.blogspot.com/2016/04/how-i-got-out-of-my-planner-rut.html

Turn Off Distractions—Stay Focused with Your Planner https://thefabulousplanner.wordpress.com/2016/04/02/turn-off-distractions-stay-focused-with-your-planner/

A Year of Planning—How Things Change https://zoeplans.wordpress.com/2016/03/27/a-year-of-planning-how-things-change/

5 Reasons You Do Have Time to Plan Your Day https://timemanagementninja.com/2016/02/5-reasons-you-do-have-time-to-plan-your-day/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+TimeManagementNinja+%28Time+Management+Ninja%29

My Love-Hate Relationship with My Planner http://srplanner.blogspot.com/2016/02/my-love-hate-relationship-with-my.html

Five Ideas to Make a Planner Work for You https://thefabulousplanner.wordpress.com/2016/02/09/five-ideas-to-make-a-planner-work-for-you/

How to Make All Those Lists Work in Your Planner http://www.giftieetcetera.com/2016/06/how-to-make-all-those-lists-work-in.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+GiftieEtcetera+%28Giftie+Etcetera%29&safe=strict

Traveler’s Notebook Bullet Journal: Finding What Worked for Me http://www.passionthemedlife.com/2016/06/16/travelers-notebook-bullet-journal-finding-what-worked-for-me/

Random Blog Links:

Minimalist Living http://howtogyst.com/minimalist-living/

For the Love of Money or Happiness https://jaycolby.com/2016/06/15/for-the-love-of-money-or-happiness/

How to Find Focus as a Multi-Passionate Entrepreneur http://www.strangecharmed.com/business/how-to-find-focus-as-a-multi-passionate-entrepreneur/

Why are Affluent Millennials Shopping in Dollar Stores? http://www.forbes.com/sites/retailwire/2016/06/21/why-are-affluent-millennials-shopping-in-dollar-stores/#155fc5ee7453

You Don’t Have to Do Anything…Really You Don’t! https://timemanagementninja.com/2016/04/you-dont-have-to-do-anything-really-you-dont/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+TimeManagementNinja+%28Time+Management+Ninja%29

The Story Behind the Monopoly Pieces http://coolmaterial.com/feature/the-story-behind-monopoly-pieces/?utm_source=coolhunting.com&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=pubexchange_article

Writing Related Blog Links:

Freelance Links http://blogalog75.wix.com/queenolinks#!Freelance-Writing/pzst9/574c32220cf23b0100897fad

How to Start Freelancing in 8 Easy Steps http://www.alexiapbullard.com/blog/how-to-start-freelancing-8-steps

Three Reasons Why Writing Matters http://www.iamtypecast.com/2016/04/writing-matters.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+Typecast2000+%28Typecast%29

Link

There’s a game called Desert Island. The basic set of rules state: “You’re stranded on a desert island. You can only have three (or one or two) books with you. What are they?”

The rules can vary and one of the variations I’m doing is Top Three Books. I chose to do a themed version of it and choose my top three cookbooks

My First Baking Book

My First Baking Book (1)

Author: Helen Drew

Copyright date: 1991

Amazon Link: http://www.amazon.com/First-Baking-Book-Helen-Drew/dp/0863186505

Why: Purely sentimental reasons for bringing this book along. I did a whole post on this book. You read it here [insert link]. I fondly remember reading through this cookbook multiple times, childish fantasies filling my head about making the cookies within. To date, the only recipe I’ve actually make from this book is peanut butter cookie recipe. (My dad’s favorite!)

TM 10-412 War Department Technical Manual: Army Recipes, August 1946

IMG_2091

Author: War Department

Copyright date: August 1946; post-WWII, and one year before the War Department became the Department of Defense; possibly the last version of this book.

Why: I’m fascinated by the quantities: Apple Crisp for 100 (40 lbs. fresh apples; 1 oz. nutmeg; 3 lbs. sugar, granulated; 7 ½ lbs. sugar, brown; 4 lbs. of flour; 4 lbs. butter).

I’m also fascinated by the hardware use: Mess Kit Spoons, No. 56 dippers, and No. 10 can. I wonder what the equivalent sizes are. I’ve been researching by haven’t found much. This book is very interesting to look through. It gives you an idea of what the food options were for soldiers during World War II. If this book could be converted to modern measurements, it could really work for a caterer. And my husband made a good point: if I was stranded on a desert island, there may be recipes in here for the tropical fruits I would find.

More information from the Library of Congress: https://www.loc.gov/rr/scitech/SciRefGuides/technicalmanuals3.html

The Taste of Home Cookbook: Timeless Recipes from Trusted Home Cooks: from the World’s #1 Cooking Magazine

IMG_2090

Editors: Taste of Home editors

Copyright date: 2006

Amazon link: http://www.amazon.com/The-Taste-Home-Cookbook-Editors/dp/B007K5DRQM

Why: This is a wonderful beginner’s cookbook! It would make a great gift for newlyweds or anyone who is interested in learning how to cook and bake. It has substitution charts and equivalent charts on the inner front and back covers, Kitchen Basics chapter, and each chapter, especially the meat ones, contain cooking charts and helpful hints. Lots of variety in the recipes! This would also be a good book to study.

© Cori Large Feb 12, 2016

Link

Spotlight: Nigella Lawson

Who: Nigella Lawson

Career/Occupation: chef, tv personality, judge on The Taste, food writer

Authored Books:

How to Eat: The Pleasures and Principles of Good Food by Nigella Lawson

How to Be a Domestic Goddess: Baking and the Art of Comfort Cooking by Nigella Lawson

Nigella Bites by Nigella Lawson

Nigella Summer (formerly Forever Summer) by Nigella Lawson

Feast by Nigella Lawson

Nigella Express by Nigella Lawson

Nigella Christmas by Nigella Lawson

Kitchen by Nigella Lawson

Nigellissima by Nigella Lawson

Simply Nigella: Food to Nourish Body and Soul by Nigella Lawson (to be published Autumn 2015)

Nigella books

(Nigella’s books that I personally own.)

TV/Movies:

Nigella Bites

Nigella Bites Christmas Special

Forever Summer

Nigella

Nigella’s Christmas Kitchen

Nigella Express

Nigella Kitchen

Nigellisima

The Taste-USA
The Taste-UK

Websites:

www.nigella.com

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nigella_Lawson

What do I like about this person?    

I like Nigella’s attitude of cooking for fun and comfort rather than perfection. She has no qualms about tasting and eating the food she cooking. She loves cooking, entertaining, and it comes through in her books and shows.

Other:

I watched an interview with her at one point, and she listed her top 5 ingredients: alcohol, unwaxed organic lemons, good kosher salt, garlic-infused oil, and olive oil-but not extra virgin olive oil.

Nigella Lawson, a biography by Gilly Smith

Nigella Lawson by Gilly Smith

Summary:

The author gives background on Ms. Lawson’s parents, walks us through her childhood and youth, before hop-scotching around her early adult years, and briefly touching on what her life has been like in the 2000s. Focuses a lot on her books and the TV shows.

Opinion:

I was really disappointed with this book. Maybe because I didn’t learn anything new about her. Throughout the book, both Nigella and her friends repeatedly say that “what you see, is what you get with her.” Maybe I’m being biased because in studying Martha Steward, I learned a lot of gossip and sordid details. Oh, well. I still love her (Nigella’s) cookbooks and cannot wait until I’ve collected them all!

© Cori Endicott July 2012

How to Slice an Onion by Bunny Crumpacker

Summary:

The subtitle of the book says it all: tips, techniques, recipes, food facts, and folklore!

Opinion:

This was a very interesting book. Definitely a put-down-and-pick-up book. Nice and leisurely. It took me several months to read it. I tagged almost every recipe to try at some point. A wonderful book for anyone who is interested in food and cooking.

Highly recommend!

© Cori Endicott April 2012